There seems to be some misinformation out there on what equipment is necessary for motorcycles and mopeds. I hope this Newsletter will add some clarification. Florida Statute 316.211 regulates what equipment is necessary if riding a motorcycle or moped. I will try to simplify this as much as possible.
If you are riding a motorcycle you must wear a helmet at all times with one exception. If you are over 21 years old you do not have to wear a helmet if you are covered by an insurance policy providing for at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred as a result of a crash while operating or riding a motorcycle. You do not have to wear a helmet when riding a moped unless you are under 16 years of age, then a helmet is required.
You must always wear eye protection when riding a motorcycle no matter what insurance you have in place. You have to wear eye protection on a moped if you are under 16, you don’t have to wear eye protection if you are over 16 and the moped/motorcycle does not have a motor size that exceeds 50 cc and cannot exceed 30 miles per hour.
If you have been given a citation for a violation of this statute or any other you should contact our office as soon as possible since sometimes you may be charged with a criminal violation if you violate the motorcycle laws in Florida.
Please call us at (954) 967-9888 or email us at Jason@TrafficTicketTeam.com.